Health & Social Care (Level 3 Extended Certificate)

Health, Public Services and Care

Health, Public Services and Care
Health, Public Services and Care

What will you be working towards?

Alternative Title Health & Social Care (Level 3 Extended Certificate)
Code L3Hs1
Qualification Type National Extended Certificate (BTEC)
Qualification Level Level 3
Course type Full Time


This is a Level 3 Extended Certificate course. It is the equivalent size to one A Level - 60 credits.

A BTEC Level 3 in Health and Social Care is a vocational qualification that has been designed with the workplace in mind. It is about giving you the knowledge and skills required not just for employment but for life and the community in general. You will develop professional and personal skills through interaction with people who either work in the sector or require support from the sector, as well as gaining the theoretical knowledge understanding to underpin these skills.


The Extended Certificate is equivalent to 1 A level and consists of 3 mandatory units and 1 optional unit.

Mandatory units include:

  • Human Lifestyle Development
  • Working in Health and Social Care
  • Anatomy and Physiology

How will it be delivered?

You will be expected to do work experience in a Health and Social Care setting to enable you to transfer your theoretical knowledge into a practical situation.

The course is delivered through taught sessions which lead to preparation for external assessments or the completion of assignments. Group discussion, individual written preparation, practical exercises; practice questions and assessments are all used throughout the course. 

Achievement in the qualification requires a demonstration of depth of study in each unit, assured acquisition of a range of practical skills required for employment or progression to HE, and successful development of transferable skills. Learners achieving a qualification will have achieved across mandatory units including external and synoptic assessment. Units are assessed using a grading scale of Distinction, Merit, Pass and Unclassified. 

Assessment is specifically designed to fit the purpose and objective of the qualification. It includes a range of assessment types and styles suited to vocational qualifications in the sector. There are three main forms of assessment that you need to be aware of: external, internal and synoptic. Each external assessment is taken under specified conditions, then marked by the awarding organisation and a grade is awarded. Learners must achieve all external units at pass grade or above. Students are permitted to re sit any external assessment only once during the programme.

Internal assessments are set and marked by the course staff and the outcome verified by an independent member of staff. Internal assessments usually take the form of assignments, which might be written reports, presentations or practical activities which are observed by an assessor.

The styles of external assessment used for qualifications in the this course are:

  • Examinations - all learners take the same assessment at the same time, normally with a written outcome
  • Set tasks - learners take the assessment during a defined window and demonstrate understanding through completion of a vocational task. Some external assessments include a period of preparation using set information. External assessments are available twice a year. 

Entry requirements

At least 5 GCSE Grades 9 - 4 to include English and Maths.

Your next steps...

This qualification is perfect for your next step whether it be Higher Education, an apprenticeship or employment. It is a good foundation for any career in the Health and Social Care sector, whether that is nursing, teaching or social work. This is a growing sector and the qualification makes you very employable.